South Pole Winter 2010

Polies from 2010

rogues gallery

Above, this is the official group winterover photo, taken near the end of the winter by Debbie Travis. Thanks, Debbie, and thanks Ethan Good for sending it along! (Here's the original unedited 5MB photo.)

And at right you can see documentation by Cody Meyer that this photo has joined the infamous winterover photo collection in the main hallway.

some pole souls

Above, here is the official midwinters greeting card that got sent around to the rest of the Antarctic stations as well as the rest of us. NSF posted a special news feature about this long-standing tradition...

Barack Obama sent the traditional midwinters greeting letter from the White House.

And the 2010 winterovers are:

Derek Aboltins
Ralf Bernard Auer
Kevin Berck
Johan (John F.) Booth
Boyd W. Brown
Ella R. Derbyshire
Nathan M. Dyer
Genevieve L. Ellison
Ethan R. Good
Ernie Gray
Flint O. Hamblin
Michelle (Shelby) Handlin
Rhiannon M. Henning
David M. Holmes
Dana (James D.) Hrubes
Emanuel (Philipp E.) Jacobi
Jeff King
Debra S. Kolmodin
Matthew W. Lee
Ricardo A. Lopez
Daniel M. Luong-Van
Mel MacMahon
Jason D. McDonald
John M. Maloney
Timothy O. Markle
Sheri A. McKeen
Shaun Meehan
Cody Lee Meyer
Nicholas C. Morgan
Suzanne M. O'Reilly
Virgil E. Porterfield
James C. Reaves
Steffen Richter
Joseph Romagnano
Elizabeth Rose
Raul S. Salinas, III
Chris Scadden
Kelly C. Schermerhorn
Francis A. Shiel
Paul Smith
Hung H. So
Marc A. Stavale
Kenn Taylor
Deborah L. Travis (Townsend)	 
James Travis, III
Emily Wilson
Randall Wilson

Sadly I must note here that physician assistant/nurse practitioner Emily Wilson passed away on 2 December 2016 after a long battle with ovarian cancer. Here is her obituary (840 kb).

Here's the midwinter dinner menu, with an incredible border design by Matt Lee. The feast was held on Friday 18 June:

fresh bananas
Let's not be confused by this menu.

the 2010 FEMC crew
Above, another classic winter photo, this of the FEMC crew, courtesy of James Travis III. This photo WAS
taken near midwinter...Deb Travis clued me in that the windows were photoshopped in, as were Chuck and
Rico. Great photo!

From left to right: Ernie Gray (NPP Lead), David Holmes - Carpenter, James "Chuck"
Reeves - Safety, Shelby Handlin - UT Apprentice, Paul Smith - UT, Hung So - Elec-
trician, James Travis III - UT Foreman/FEMC Supervisor, Liz Rose - WO Planner,
Kevin Berck - Plumber, Christopher Scadden - NPP, Ricardo (Rico) Lopez - UT,
Randall Wilson - NPP. Not pictured: Debra Kolmodin - Facilities Engineer